A 41-year-old member asked:
Disclaimer

are vitamin tablets vegetarian friendly?

1 doctor answer
Dr. Randy Baker
40 years experience Holistic Medicine
Some are, some not: Vitamins tend to be mostly vegetarian, but some contain animal-derived products, especially vitamin a which may come from fish oil. Also, some vitamins are in gelatin-based gel-caps. Read the ingredients and avoid gel-caps. A quality multivitamin will usually state on the label if it is appropriate for vegetarians.
Answered on Dec 9, 2013

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
24/7 visits
$15 per month

Related questions:

A 25-year-old male asked:
Dr. James Ferguson
46 years experience Pediatrics
Faulty premise: Your premise is faulty as stated. I/we have not said some vitamin pills cannot replace some nutrients found in natural foods. There are essential vita ... Read More
A 21-year-old female asked:
Dr. Ed Friedlander
44 years experience Pathology
Glamor vitamins: The ads represent a vitamin-and-mineral supplement many times more pricey than what you could get at a local drug store because they add mushrooms, ma ... Read More
A 20-year-old female asked:
Dr. Randy Baker
40 years experience Holistic Medicine
Variety: The basis of a healthy diet (vegetarian or not) should be a wide variety of vegetables, preferably organic-try vegies of all colors as colors represen ... Read More
1
1 comment
A 35-year-old member asked:
Dr. Heidi Fowler
25 years experience Psychiatry
I would check the: specific product to know. It is often denoted if it is acceptable for vegan use.

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
24/7 visits
$15 per month