A 34-year-old member asked:
Disclaimer

what is the meaning of gluten free?

1 doctor answer
Dr. Robert Kwok
32 years experience Pediatrics
No gluten protein: Gluten-free means the food or drink does not contain gluten, a protein found in such grains as wheat, rye, and barley (including malted barley or malt). Grains that do not contain gluten include corn, rice, millet, quinoa, sorghum, and buckwheat.
Answered on Sep 21, 2011

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month

Related questions:

A 44-year-old member asked:
Dr. Scott Welker
26 years experience General Surgery
Not at all: Airlines and other companies are very aware of this issue and assume a great deal of liability when they purport something to be gluten free. You can ... Read More
1
1 thank
A 48-year-old member asked:
Dr. Robert Kwok
32 years experience Pediatrics
If no gluten protein: Gluten-free means the food or drink does not contain gluten, a protein found in such grains as wheat, rye, and barley (including malted barley). Grain ... Read More
1
1 thank
A 37-year-old member asked:
Dr. Liesa Harte
28 years experience Family Medicine
Timothy Hay = no glu: Timothy hay does not contain gluten.
A 38-year-old member asked:
Dr. Pamela Pappas
41 years experience Psychiatry
Gluten-free: You can add more protein, and starches that are not wheat-based. Sweet potatoes, brown rice, quinoa, various squashes, etc are fine, for instance. Ea ... Read More

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month