A 54-year-old member asked:
Disclaimer

Is dextrose just sugar, and is it gluten-free?

1 doctor answer
Dr. Robert Kwok
32 years experience in Pediatrics
Yes: Dextrose is a sugar, made by processing starches (such as corn starch, rice starch, or wheat starch). Due to the extensive processing, dextrose is considered gluten-free.
Answered on Sep 28, 2016

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month

Related questions:

A 48-year-old member asked:
Dr. Martin Fried
35 years experience in General Practice
Yes: It is a sugar with one water- there was no mention of protein in it- gluten is the protein found in wheat, rye and barley.
A female asked:
Dr. Thomas Josa
38 years experience in Allergy and Immunology
No: Gluten is a protein found in certain grains, especially wheat. Sugar is..... well you know. A gluten free product doesn't indicate anything about s ... Read More
1
1 thank
A 56-year-old member asked:
Dr. Liesa Harte
28 years experience in Family Medicine
Gluten & sugar free : Stop eating wheat, barley, rye, and sugar. After a few days, you should start feeling better - even if you didn't feel bad to begin with. No one ... Read More
1
1 thank
A 53-year-old member asked:
Dr. Liesa Harte
28 years experience in Family Medicine
Gluten & sugar free : Stop eating wheat, barley, rye, and sugar. After a few days, you should start feeling better - even if you didn't feel bad to begin with. No one ... Read More

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month