A member asked:

Hi i am strictly vegetarian and looking for omega-3 dha source. i wanted to know if ala in walnuts gets converted to dha sufficient well in our body?

2 doctors weighed in across 2 answers

Look for algal DHA: In the US there are available sources of DHA that is derived from algae. You may be able to find a similar product in India. Ovega-3 is the brand name of one product here, and similar products are available.I'd look to the real thing and not depend on conversion.

Answered 9/27/2014

3.7k views

Thank
Dr. Randy Baker answered

Specializes in Holistic Medicine

Not really: Research suggests that only about 0.5% of ALA is converted to DHA and some people may not be able to make that conversion at all. There are vegan sources of DHA from algae. See http://chriskresser.com/why-fish-stomps-flax-as-a-source-of-omega-3 and http://www.veganhealth.org/articles/omega3 and http://www.omegavia.com/omega-3-options-for-vegans/

Answered 11/15/2017

3.7k views

Thank

Related Questions

Sponsored Content
HealthTap Medical Group does not endorse products or services. Sponsored content revenues support our mission to make health information free and accessible to all.Learn more