A 21-year-old member asked:

What are the stages of cervical pre-cancer?my mom just diagnosed with stage 5 of 6 but is still pre-cancerous. she might have to have a hysterectomy

2 doctor answers7 doctors weighed in
Dr. Colin Kerr
Family Medicine 46 years experience
Pap smears: The two common classifications of precancerous lesions of the cervix are the bethesda system, which classifies lesions as low-grade squamous intraepithelial lesion (lsil), or high-grade (hsil). Of these the hsil is the important one. The other system is the cin system with cin 1 (mild dysplasia), CIN 2 (moderate), cin 3 (severe dysplasia) and ultimately cis (carcinoma in situ).
Created for people with ongoing healthcare needs but benefits everyone.
Dr. Lisa Lepine
Gynecology 33 years experience
Need more info.: Cervical changes in the cervix that can lead to cervical cancer are due to the human papaillomavirus. When a woman has biopsy confirmed cin 1, this merely means that she has an infection with hpv. Most of the tiem those cells changes will resolve on their own. Cin 2 indicates that the cells have changed further. Cin 3 or cis is true precancer of the cervix and those cells should be removed.
Created for people with ongoing healthcare needs but benefits everyone.
Last updated Dec 31, 2016


Content on HealthTap (including answers) should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and interactions on HealthTap do not create a doctor-patient relationship. Never disregard or delay professional medical advice in person because of anything on HealthTap. Call your doctor or 911 if you think you may have a medical emergency.