A 38-year-old member asked:
Disclaimer

can you tell me if i'm sensitive to gluten but not celiac can i still have oatmeal?

1 doctor answer
Dr. James Ferguson
45 years experience Pediatrics
Depends on variables: Oatmeal by itself is gluten free.However, it is often processed on machinery that is also used to process wheat and cross contamination can and does occur. Learn to read labels well and look for oatmeal processed on separate equipment.This is usually clearly indicated on the content disclosure.
Answered on May 7, 2014

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month

Related questions:

A 36-year-old member asked:
Dr. John Chiu
Dr. John Chiu answered
56 years experience Allergy and Immunology
No: Since rice contains no gluten, your skin problem is not related to gluten, certainly not solely even if you are gluten-sensitive.
A 39-year-old member asked:
Dr. Martin Fried
35 years experience General Practice
Yes: You can have a sensitivity to wheat or a wheat intolerance without having autoantibodies as are found in celiac disease. This can be confirmed by bloo ... Read More
1
1 thank
A 43-year-old member asked:
Dr. Martin Fried
35 years experience General Practice
Damage to intestines: Depending on the amount ingested and your immune system response, there is the potential for damage to the lining to the intestines. The damage may af ... Read More
A 37-year-old member asked:
Dr. Robert Kwok
32 years experience Pediatrics
Maybe 1% (1 in 100): The exact prevalence (percentage of people in the population with the disease) of celiac disease is not certain. Some people estimate the number to be ... Read More
1
1 thank

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month