A female asked:
Disclaimer

is oatmeal gluten free?

1 doctor answer
Dr. Dan Fisher
26 years experience Internal Medicine
Technically yes.: Realistically no. Unless it says certified gluten free on the label, oatmeal may be contaminated with wheat, rye or barley which contain gluten.
Answered on Jun 9, 2014
2
2 thanks

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month

Related questions:

A 32-year-old member asked:
Dr. Jack Mutnick
16 years experience Allergy and Immunology
Oatmeal: It should say on the package. Many of their products are gluten-free but some of their products are not. If it doesn't say it, then it is not gluten-f ... Read More
A 23-year-old female asked:
Dr. Justin Greiwe
11 years experience Allergy and Immunology
Celiac Disease: Celiac disease (gluten-sensitivity) presents with villous atrophy, malabsorption, weight loss (signs of nutrient or vitamin deficiency). Resolution of ... Read More
1
1 thank
A 25-year-old member asked:
Dr. Robert Kwok
32 years experience Pediatrics
Maybe not: Oats and oatmeal are listed as a gluten-containing grain. More recent reports say that oats don't have the gluten proteins but have small amounts of a ... Read More
A 38-year-old member asked:
Dr. James Ferguson
45 years experience Pediatrics
Depends on variables: Oatmeal by itself is gluten free.However, it is often processed on machinery that is also used to process wheat and cross contamination can and does o ... Read More

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month