A 39-year-old member asked:
Disclaimer

what is a person eat with celiac disease?

1 doctor answer
Dr. Martin Fried
35 years experience General Practice
No wheat rye barley: You can eat meat, chicken, turkey, fish, nuts, fruits and vegetables, grains including rice, and corn. Potato and sweet potato. Avoid any wheat, rye, or barley products or products derived from them. This means avoiding products that contain gluten- the product in wheat rye and barley that causes the body to react adversely in celiac.
Answered on Sep 4, 2018

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month

Related questions:

A 34-year-old member asked:
Dr. Nayla Mumneh
28 years experience Allergy and Immunology
Celiac: Ego waffles don't give you celiac disease, but if you have celiac and eat them you will be agony by now.
A 41-year-old member asked:
Dr. Michael P Vaughn
33 years experience Allergy and Immunology
Celiac disease: Celiac disease is caused my blood cells in your body that have developed sensitivity to a grain protein called gliadin. Wheat, rye, barley and spelt c ... Read More
2
2 thanks
A 37-year-old member asked:
Dr. Joram Seggev
Specializes in Allergy and Immunology
Anything but gluten: In celiac disease, antibodies to gluten destroy the lining of the small intestine. However, unless you have developed malabsoroption, you can eat any ... Read More
A 31-year-old female asked:
Dr. Charles Gordon
Specializes in Adolescent Medicine
No!: Celiac disease is not an infectious disease that you can "catch" from somebody such as a cold. Your child may have a celiac sensitivity, not the disea ... Read More

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month