Top answers from doctors based on your search:
Disclaimer

does rye bread contain gluten

A 39-year-old member asked:
Dr. Marcus Degraw
21 years experience in Pediatrics
Well... Not so fast.: Allergy testing is not tremendously accurate, especially in kids. More and more studies and reviews are demonstrating this issue in kids. http://www. ... Read More
2
2 comments
16
16 thanks

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month
A 59-year-old female asked:
Dr. Suzanne Galli
23 years experience in ENT and Head and Neck Surgery
Food allergies: If you are perplexed about your dietary restrictions, a nutritionist may be able to help you. You listed only five items you are allergic to. There ar ... Read More
2
2 thanks
A 36-year-old female asked:
Dr. Lois Freisleben-Cook
40 years experience in Pediatrics
It is possible: You can be tested for the HLA DQ antigens associated with celiac disease or you could have antibody testing done followed by endoscopy and biopsy if p ... Read More
1
1 thank
A female asked:
Dr. Milton Alvis, jr
40 years experience in Preventive Medicine
Beware that allergy: is simply a label for behavioral response. Pretense is that someone else (Doc, etc.) really understands what is happening when actually just repeating ... Read More
1
1 thank
A 34-year-old member asked:
Dr. Robert Kwok
32 years experience in Pediatrics
Maybe not: Oats and oatmeal are listed as a gluten-containing grain. More recent reports say that oats don't have the gluten proteins but have small amounts of a ... Read More
A 47-year-old member asked:
Dr. Robert Kwok
32 years experience in Pediatrics
Probably not: Oats and oatmeal are listed as a gluten-containing grain. More recent reports say that oats don't have the gluten proteins but have small amounts of a ... Read More
2
2 thanks
A 50-year-old member asked:
Dr. Liesa Harte
28 years experience in Family Medicine
Optifast gluten?: According to their website, optifast does not contain gluten.
A 40-year-old member asked:
Dr. Robert Kwok
32 years experience in Pediatrics
Wheat, rye, barley: Gluten is a protein found in such grains as wheat, rye, barley (including malted barley or malt), and spelt. Grains that do not contain gluten include ... Read More
2
2 thanks
A 56-year-old member asked:
Dr. Steven Weissberg
54 years experience in Obstetrics and Gynecology
No: Not that i know of.
A 51-year-old member asked:
Dr. Sidney Vinson
26 years experience in Gastroenterology
Some can: Most beers are filtered liquids and contain little to no gluten protein. Some beer, especially unfiltered, can exacerbate gluten intolerance. The am ... Read More
A 59-year-old member asked:
Dr. Arthur Torre
50 years experience in Pediatric Allergy and Asthma
Milk products: Lactose is the naturally occurring sugar in milk. So all milk products (including cheese, butter, ice cream and yogurt) contain lactose. Many baked ... Read More
5
5 thanks
A 40-year-old member asked:
Dr. Robert Kwok
32 years experience in Pediatrics
No: Red or white wines are made from grapes and are gluten-free. Gluten is a protein found in such grains as wheat, barley, malted barley, rye, spelt, etc ... Read More
A 49-year-old member asked:
Dr. Robert Kwok
32 years experience in Pediatrics
Many are gluten-free: Gluten is a protein found in such grains as wheat, rye, barley (including malted barley or malt), and spelt. Grains that do not contain gluten include ... Read More
1
1 thank
A 47-year-old member asked:
Dr. Charles Cattano
38 years experience in Gastroenterology
Celiac recipes: In response to your question i searched the web for "celiac recipes." the search yielded over 10 pages of websites offering tasty alternatives to bak ... Read More
3
3 thanks
A 47-year-old member asked:
Dr. Robert Lang
51 years experience in Endocrinology
No: Cereal does not normally contain iodine unless it is fortified with iodine which is very unusual.
A 24-year-old male asked:
Dr. Michael Gross
45 years experience in Nephrology and Dialysis
No: It does not contain these things
1
1 thank
A 47-year-old member asked:
Dr. Justin Greiwe
11 years experience in Allergy and Immunology
Yes: Gluten is a protein in all forms of wheat
A 42-year-old member asked:
Dr. Stevan Cordas
56 years experience in Internal Medicine
Celiac: You shouldbn't tempt fate.
A 46-year-old member asked:
Dr. Liesa Harte
28 years experience in Family Medicine
Gluten: Gluten is in wheat, barley, and rye. Therefore, it is in any foods or drinks that use these as ingredients. Some foods are pretty obvious like typic ... Read More
A 39-year-old member asked:
Dr. Rhett Griggs
18 years experience in Hand Surgery
No: No.
A 25-year-old female asked:
Dr. Derrick Lonsdale
72 years experience in Preventive Medicine
No: Lactose is milk sugar.
2
2 thanks
A 41-year-old member asked:
Dr. Martin Fried
35 years experience in General Practice
Both: complex carbs in chex are listed as carbs and the simple ones are listed as sugars. The total carbs minus the simple sugars leaves you with the amount ... Read More
A 51-year-old member asked:
Dr. Nayla Mumneh
28 years experience in Allergy and Immunology
Food allergy: You really need to determine first if you are allergic to all the items you listed , consult an allerkgist, a good resource is foodallergy.Org to fin ... Read More
A member asked:
Dr. John Chiu
Dr. John Chiu answered
56 years experience in Allergy and Immunology
No: Both conditions are mostly genetically determined. There is no benefit and possibly harm in avoiding gluten when you don't have intolerance to gluten/ ... Read More
1
1 thank

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month