A member asked:

Are there various stages of coma?

3 doctors weighed in across 2 answers

Stupor and coma: Classical stages include lethargy, stupor, semi-coma and full coma. All of this is based on the area of the brain which is mostly affected, and the findings on exam correlating with the extent of the problem. The physician can adjust therapy, provide a prognosis, and make decisions based on clinical exam findings. Coma can be chronic, over weeks or months, or brief, such as a concussion.

Answered 4/12/2013


Dr. Idan Sharon answered

Specializes in Neurology

Coma stages: The glasgow coma scale involves three determinants: eye opening, verbal responses and motor response (movement). These determinants are evaluated separately according to a numerical value that indicates the level of consciousness and the degree of dysfunction. Scores run from a high of 15 to a low of 3. Persons are considered to have experienced a "mild" brain injury when their score is 13 to 15.

Answered 10/3/2016



Related Questions

A member asked:

What happens when someone wakes up from being in a coma?

A doctor has provided 1 answer

A member asked:

What would happen if I am in coma without power of attorney?

9 doctors weighed in across 2 answers

A member asked:

Ms coma? Please explain....

3 doctors weighed in across 3 answers