6 doctors weighed in:
Are any of the vegetable cooking oils a problem for celiac disease (gluten-sensitive) people?
6 doctors weighed in

Dr. Bennett Werner
Internal Medicine - Cardiology
4 doctors agree
In brief: No
There is no gluten in cooking oil.
Gluten (from latin gluten, "glue") is a protein composite found in foods processed from wheat and related grain species, including barley and rye.

In brief: No
There is no gluten in cooking oil.
Gluten (from latin gluten, "glue") is a protein composite found in foods processed from wheat and related grain species, including barley and rye.
Dr. Bennett Werner
Dr. Bennett Werner
Thank
Dr. Amy Deeken
Pathology
In brief: Depends...
Pure vegetable oils are ok.
But look out for the term hydrogenated oil on the label. Hydrogenated oils mean that they are mixed with something, usually soy or gluten based. If you see that on a food that is labeled gluten free, it must be mixed with soy. If the food is not labeled gluten free, it is best to check with the company.

In brief: Depends...
Pure vegetable oils are ok.
But look out for the term hydrogenated oil on the label. Hydrogenated oils mean that they are mixed with something, usually soy or gluten based. If you see that on a food that is labeled gluten free, it must be mixed with soy. If the food is not labeled gluten free, it is best to check with the company.
Dr. Amy Deeken
Dr. Amy Deeken
Thank
Get help from a real doctor now
Dr. Marsha Davis
Board Certified, Internal Medicine
24 years in practice
67M people helped
Continue
107,000 doctors available
Read more answers from doctors