How many roots does a wisdom tooth have?

Wisdom Teeth. Wisdom teeth are sometimes referred to as third molars. Lower wisdom teeth usually have 2 roots and upper wisdom teeth usually have 3 roots.
2 or 3. Lower usually 2, sometimes 3 or more. Upper usually 3, sometimes 2, 3 or more. For best results, see oral surgeon for wisdom tooth extraction.