4 doctors weighed in:

Does oatmeal contain gluten?

4 doctors weighed in
Dr. Robert Kwok
Pediatrics
2 doctors agree

In brief: Maybe not

Oats and oatmeal are listed as a gluten-containing grain.
More recent reports say that oats don't have the gluten proteins but have small amounts of another protein that may cause reactions in some celiac disease patients. Sometimes the same equipment that processes oats also processes wheat, so there can be traces of gluten from the wheat getting into the oats. So, "pure" oats probably are ok.

In brief: Maybe not

Oats and oatmeal are listed as a gluten-containing grain.
More recent reports say that oats don't have the gluten proteins but have small amounts of another protein that may cause reactions in some celiac disease patients. Sometimes the same equipment that processes oats also processes wheat, so there can be traces of gluten from the wheat getting into the oats. So, "pure" oats probably are ok.
Dr. Robert Kwok
Dr. Robert Kwok
Thank
Dr. Jack Mutnick
Internal Medicine - Allergy & Immunology

In brief: Yes

Oatmeal contains gluten.

In brief: Yes

Oatmeal contains gluten.
Dr. Jack Mutnick
Dr. Jack Mutnick
Thank
Get help from a real doctor now
Dr. Christopher Crosby
Board Certified, Dermatology
12 years in practice
93K people helped
Continue
108,000 doctors available
Read more answers from doctors