6 doctors weighed in:
What kind of liquor is gluten free?
6 doctors weighed in

Dr. Robert Kwok
Pediatrics
2 doctors agree
In brief: Wine, distilled liq.
Wines are made from grapes, and are gluten-free.
Gluten is a protein found in grains such as wheat, rye, barley, barley malt (malt), etc... Distilled liquor (hard liquor like gin, vodka, or whiskey) is purified and concentrated by distillation, which removes the gluten that was in the original fermenting grains. Beer, ale, lager, and malt drinks normally contain gluten.

In brief: Wine, distilled liq.
Wines are made from grapes, and are gluten-free.
Gluten is a protein found in grains such as wheat, rye, barley, barley malt (malt), etc... Distilled liquor (hard liquor like gin, vodka, or whiskey) is purified and concentrated by distillation, which removes the gluten that was in the original fermenting grains. Beer, ale, lager, and malt drinks normally contain gluten.
Dr. Robert Kwok
Dr. Robert Kwok
Thank
Dr. Martin Ostro
Internal Medicine - Allergy & Immunology
1 doctor agrees
In brief: Non-grain based
Any liquor derived from wheat, barley, oats, rye are potentially gluten containing though distillation usually removes all protein including gluten.
Any liquor derived from other sources, e.g. Rice, grape, agave, potato, sugar cane, etc. Should be safe.

In brief: Non-grain based
Any liquor derived from wheat, barley, oats, rye are potentially gluten containing though distillation usually removes all protein including gluten.
Any liquor derived from other sources, e.g. Rice, grape, agave, potato, sugar cane, etc. Should be safe.
Dr. Martin Ostro
Dr. Martin Ostro
Thank
Dr. Jack Mutnick
Internal Medicine - Allergy & Immunology
In brief: Gluten
Anything with wheat contains gluten.
Look for alcohol made from veggies or fruits that don't contain wheat.

In brief: Gluten
Anything with wheat contains gluten.
Look for alcohol made from veggies or fruits that don't contain wheat.
Dr. Jack Mutnick
Dr. Jack Mutnick
Thank
Read more answers from doctors