2 doctors weighed in:
Which grains contain gluten?
2 doctors weighed in

Dr. Tania Dempsey
Internal Medicine
In brief: Gluten grains
Include wheat, spelt, rye and barley.
However, there are other grains and food that are considered gluten-free but might need to be avoided in patients who are celiac or gluten intolerant due to the possibility of cross-reactivity. These foods include: dairy, chocolate, sesame, hemp, buckwheat, egg, soy, sorghum, corn, millet, amaranth, quinoa, yeast , tapioca, teff, oats, coffee, rice. Read:grain brain.

In brief: Gluten grains
Include wheat, spelt, rye and barley.
However, there are other grains and food that are considered gluten-free but might need to be avoided in patients who are celiac or gluten intolerant due to the possibility of cross-reactivity. These foods include: dairy, chocolate, sesame, hemp, buckwheat, egg, soy, sorghum, corn, millet, amaranth, quinoa, yeast , tapioca, teff, oats, coffee, rice. Read:grain brain.
Dr. Tania Dempsey
Dr. Tania Dempsey
Thank
Dr. Robert Kwok
Pediatrics
In brief: Wheat, rye, barley
Gluten is a protein found in such grains as wheat, rye, barley (including malted barley or malt), and spelt.
Grains that do not contain gluten include corn, rice, millet, quinoa, sorghum, and buckwheat. Oats and oatmeal don't have the gluten protein, but have another protein that some celiac disease patients react to, while other celiac patients may not react with.

In brief: Wheat, rye, barley
Gluten is a protein found in such grains as wheat, rye, barley (including malted barley or malt), and spelt.
Grains that do not contain gluten include corn, rice, millet, quinoa, sorghum, and buckwheat. Oats and oatmeal don't have the gluten protein, but have another protein that some celiac disease patients react to, while other celiac patients may not react with.
Dr. Robert Kwok
Dr. Robert Kwok
Thank
Read more answers from doctors