How can some gluten-free foods have wheat listed in the ingredients?

Read labels! Good for you! It's smart to read labels, particularly if avoidance of certain foods (like gluten in celiac patients) is a must. False advertising in the case of products you indicate is tragic. Contact the manufacturer, the food seller and if unsatisfied with the response take your concern to the next level.

Related Questions

What's a list of wheat free/gluten free foods?

Gluten-free websites. There are many clearinghouse websites with gluten-free guides and information. Some of the best ones are http://www. Celiac. Org/, http://www. Celiac. Com/, http://www. Csaceliacs. Info/, http://www. Glutenfreediet. Ca/handouts. Php.

Is there a pocket list of gluten free foods that is helpful when grocery shopping?

On line. Check labels. Gluten is found in grains like wheat, rye, barley, triticale, spelt. So it is also in malt. Not in fruits, vegetables, legumes, meat (unprocessed), fish (unprocessed), poultry (unprocessed), dairy (milk, eggs). Common additive as thickener to gravies, flavoring, in soy sauce. Not in corn, rice. Many products advertise "gluten free"-marketing sometimes. Many never had gluten ever.

Please give me a list of gluten free foods?

Google. A gluten-free diet is a diet that excludes foods containing gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat (including kamut and spelt), barley, rye, malts and triticale. It is used as a food additive in the form of a flavoring, stabilizing or thickening agent, often as.

Is it possible to benefit from a wheat-free diet that is also not gluten free?

Yes. Yes, there is evidence that industrialized wheat in most processed foods has a higher percentage of gluten than heirloom varieties from a century ago. This may be one reason we are seeing increase in wheat and gluten sensitivity. It is possible to have an allergy or intolerance to wheat but it is far more common to be intolerant to the hard to digest gluten component, also in rye & barley.

Would one with wheat intolerance (not celiac) need to go completely gluten free or could they benefit by just reducing or eliminating wheat from diet?

Depends. Everyone is a little different, but generally gluten can cause problems even in very small amounts, so either totally eliminate wheat as well as other gluten containing grains or do not bother. Sometimes people can just have food sensitivity without gluten sensitivity.

I'm allergic to wheat and whey can I eat pastas and breads or do I need to eat a gluten free diet?

Depends. If you have confirmed IgE-mediated allergy to milk (casein and whey) and wheat then you have to avoid these products entirely and carry an EpiPen (epinephrine) with you at all times. There is a big difference between true food allergy and food intolerance. If an Allergist has not confirmed these allergies then I would suggest an appointment to further clarify and determine appropriate diet moving forward.
No. If you are indeed allergic to wheat and whey, you need to avoid only these two products. But if you have gluten-intolerance, you will need to avoid dairy as well as rye and barley. Consult an allergist to assist you on your diet.

Wheat allergy - does anyone know any good gluten free bread recipes or bread that taste real?

Celiac recipes. In response to your question I searched the web for "celiac recipes." the search yielded over 10 pages of websites offering tasty alternatives to baking/cooking with wheat. In addition, recipe suggestions can be obtained from chat rooms and national public education sites dedictated to celiac sprue. Enjoy your web surfing and happy eating...
Other grains mayhelp. Making your own bread with alternative grains is also an option. Look at flour made from rice, potato, amaranth, quinoa, chia You will need to experiment.

I'm allergic to wheat and whey but do not have celiac disease. Do I need to follow a gluten free diet?

Wheat allergy. Wheat allergy can have many symptoms. Gluten is present in wheat, but also some other grains. If your allergy symptoms are bothersome, you should make sure to avoid wheat and whey. If you only had a positive blood test for allergy but no symptoms, there is no reason to avoid it.