Can I have protein shakes that contain whey if I have a milk allergy?

No. Milk allergy means one is allergic to milk protein. Whey contains milk protein. Also, casein is milk protein, so people with milk-allergy cannot eat casein either. Lactose is milk sugar, and many people have trouble drinking milk because they don't digest lactose well (that is called lactose-intolerance, and is by itself not an allergy).

Related Questions

If I do not have a milk allergy, can I drink whey protein powder shakes?

Yes. In the case of milk allergy, you are allergic to milk protein. This includes both the whey and the casein. It would be safer for you to chose a soy or other alternative protein shake. If you want more protein, you could increase your food intake of non-dairy proteins. Use caution with any protein shake. Consuming more than 60g of protein/day can cause kidney irritation and damage over time. Read more...
Yes. Whey is a dairy component so you shouldn't have a problem. Be sure to carefully consider what your goals are for the supplement. Some are high in carbs - others more protein. Always drink LOTS of water to keep up good urine flow to avoid kidney irritation if too much protein in your diet. http://www.webmd.com/diet/protein-shakes. Read more...

My brother takes protein shakes its called whey (in strawberry flavor) hes not allergic to strawberry, is it safe could it cause him allergy?

Whey protein. Whey is a good source of protein and is usually a cow milk product. It is safe except for those allergic to cow milk. Strawberry flavor can be almost anything and may or maynot actually have strawberry in it. Best to avoid flavorings and chemicals in processed foods. Read more...