Doctor insights on:
What Kind Of Potatoes Are Gluten Free
Wheat barley rye contains gluten, a protein molecule that in susceptible people can cause reactions and long term illness. There is celiac, the most well known and severe gluten disease. There is gluten sensitivity, affecting more people, but usually milder. There is wheat allergy, less common than the others. The treatment, for now, is to avoid all gluten in ...Read more
Nuts are gluten-free: Nuts are naturally gluten-free, but processed nuts (such as candy-coated nuts) may have picked up some gluten from wheat, barley, malt, or rye ingredients during the processing. One should always check the labels on processed nuts to see if they say "gluten-free". ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
All fresh vegetables: Fresh vegetables are naturally gluten-free. If vegetables have been cooked with gluten-containing sauces or grains (such wheat, barley, malt, or rye products), then the veggies may have gluten on them. Sometimes gluten can get onto veggies if there was gluten on the grill, skillet, pot, or pan. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Probably all sodas: Probably all sodas available at stores are gluten free. Sodas are just sugars, carbonated water, caffeine, etc., but rarely would have wheat, rye, or barley. If someone was selling soda with real malted wheat or barley as flavoring, that soda may have gluten. Corn is gluten-free. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Grains: Gluten is found in grains, especially wheat, rye and barley. It is not found in corn, potato, or rice. Flour of corn, potato or rice are gluten free. Gluten may be added to foods in the form of soy sauce, and other malt flavorings ( made from barley) and many other disguises which I cant all list here. It even is found in medications as fillers and in lipstick. ...Read more
Wine, distilled liq.: Wines are made from grapes, and are gluten-free. Gluten is a protein found in grains such as wheat, rye, barley, barley malt (malt), etc... Distilled liquor (hard liquor like gin, vodka, or whiskey) is purified and concentrated by distillation, which removes the gluten that was in the original fermenting grains. Beer, ale, lager, and malt drinks normally contain gluten. ...Read moreSee 2 more doctor answers
Nutritionist: A short meeting with a nutritionist could help answer this question and help you set up a clear diet. In the meantime, check out this link to the mayo clinic's celiac info: http://www.Mayoclinic.Com/health/gluten-free-diet/my01140/. ...Read more
Many choices: All whole organic lean proteins, like eggs, chicken, fish, turkey, beef, buffalo, lamb are naturally gluten-free! vegetables are also naturally gluten-free, so are fruits and non-gluten grains, like rice, quinoa, amaranth, and millet. If you eat whole foods in their natural state, unprocessed and free of additives, sauces, marinades and dressings, you will enjoy a delicious variety! ...Read more
What are the advantages and disadvantages of dieting gluten free if you don't have gluten allergy?
Only disadvantages: If you don't have gluten allergy, restriction your diet from wheat and gluten is only putting a burden on your lifestyle. Plus, it is expensive to do so. The important rule about diet is a balance diet with everything in moderation. Regular exercise will make you healthy. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
On line: Check labels. Gluten is found in grains like wheat, rye, barley, triticale, spelt. So it is also in malt. Not in fruits, vegetables, legumes, meat (unprocessed), fish (unprocessed), poultry (unprocessed), dairy (milk, eggs). Common additive as thickener to gravies, flavoring, in soy sauce. Not in corn, rice. Many products advertise "gluten free"-marketing sometimes. Many never had gluten ever. ...Read more
Gluten: Gluten is a type of protein found in grains like wheat, barley, rye and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye). If you have celiac disease, you absolutely need to be on a gluten-free diet. Some people who don't have full celiac disease have symptoms of gluten intolerance, like abdominal cramping, diarrhea, bloating, joint pain, "brain fog, " etc. For more info: http://tinyurl.Com/mb93u2f. ...Read more
- Talk to a doctor live online for free
- What can you not eat on a gluten free diet?
- What is the difference between sugar free and gluten free?
- What are the benefits of a gluten and dairy free diet?
- Ask a doctor a question free online
- What can i substitute for flour in a cake to make it gluten free?
- Does sweet potato contain gluten?
- Does potato bread have gluten?
- Gluten free psyllium
- Talk to a gastroenterologist online