Doctor insights on:
Rye Vs Wheat Gluten
Im allergic to milk, eggs, wheat,rye and soybeans, am i supposed to cut out gluten,and what else is there to eat if i cut out the rest, i take benadry?
Food allergies: If you are perplexed about your dietary restrictions, a nutritionist may be able to help you. You listed only five items you are allergic to. There are so many other food options available!
Wheat barley rye contains gluten, a protein molecule that in susceptible people can cause reactions and long term illness. There is celiac, the most well known and severe gluten disease. There is gluten sensitivity, affecting more people, but usually milder. There is wheat allergy, less common than the others. The treatment, for now, is to avoid all gluten in ...Read more
Hi I was wondering if I may have an allergy to rye (i'm allergic to rye grass) or gluten (not allergic to wheat or corn though) or dextrin or food coloring dyes that are artificial , since I was eating cheez-its and starburst last night and noticed my thr
Beware that allergy: is simply a label for behavioral response. Pretense is that someone else (Doc, etc.) really understands what is happening when actually just repeating the clients complaints//descriptions of behavior(s), using different words/diagnostic-labels, while promoting theories to justify low-level theories aimed at justifying what is being promoted/sold. Best don't miss bigger issues & internal controls.
Im allergic to eggs, milk, soybeans, wheat and rye, do i have a gluten problem? i do have joint pains, do i need to stay away from wheat or rye?
Not necessarily: If you think you might have celiac sprue, you should have the blood tests drawn to check for it; if those are negative, you likely do not have celiac; one can still have intolerance to gluten or other compounds in wheat, etc. (look up FODMAP); the latter would not cause problems outside of your GI system;
Gluten: Gluten is in wheat, barley, and rye. Therefore, it is in any foods or drinks that use these as ingredients. Some foods are pretty obvious like typical breads, pizza, pasta, cakes, and cookies. You need to be aware that gluten is in most beers, soy sauce, and many sauces. Anything breaded typically has gluten.
Same but different..: If you are intolerant or allergic to wheat and not gluten sensitive, then you only have to avoid eating foods made of or containing wheat. Even though all wheat products have gluten, if you are gluten sensitive, you also have to avoid barley, rye and spelt. So if a product is gluten free then it is also wheat free. But the reverse is not true. Wheat free product may contain gluten.See 1 more doctor answer
Depends: If you do not have gluten sensitivity or celiac, the gluten in bagels should be fine. Roughly 6 percent of the U.S. Population is gluten sensitive and 1 percent has celiac. Gluten is present in every flour based product you eat including breads, bagels, rolls. Most people have no problems with gluten.
Gluten-free websites: There are many clearinghouse websites with gluten-free guides and information. Some of the best ones are http://www.Celiac.Org/, http://www.Celiac.Com/, http://www.Csaceliacs.Info/, http://www.Glutenfreediet.Ca/handouts.Php.
Nothing: They basically mean the same thing.Get a more detailed answer ›
If its one of those: See prior answer for more full response.
Read labels!: Good for you! it's smart to read labels, particularly if avoidance of certain foods (like gluten in celiac patients) is a must. False advertising in the case of products you indicate is tragic. Contact the manufacturer, the food seller and if unsatisfied with the response take your concern to the next level.
See Allergist: An IgE-mediated allergic reaction to wheat is very common, especially in children (less common to develop as an adult). Celiac disease (gluten allergy) is a completely unrelated condition and not related to true wheat allergy which leads to hives, itching, swelling, wheeze, etc upon exposure. See an Allergist in order to clarify your reactions and determine if you have a true allergy or not.
Yes: Yes, there is evidence that industrialized wheat in most processed foods has a higher percentage of gluten than heirloom varieties from a century ago. This may be one reason we are seeing increase in wheat and gluten sensitivity. It is possible to have an allergy or intolerance to wheat but it is far more common to be intolerant to the hard to digest gluten component, also in rye & barley.
Label reading: Look at the labels and avoid foods with milk, cheese, whey, casein, gluten, wheat.
It can be, but needs: to be validated or checked first. It's important to see when you're feeling anxious, or have panic attacks (If you do?) Then, do a food log for a week to see if there's a correlation. to what ur eating (GMO gluten wheat, pasta vs. sugars can do it too (candida).Then u can have ur dr. do a CYREX lab panel to look at this specifically.It'ill not work as well, if you've eliminated it.Start there 1st!
- Talk to a doctor online
- Rye bread vs. whole wheat
- Gluten vs wheat intolerance
- Wheat starch vs gluten
- Corn gluten vs wheat gluten
- Wheat allergy vs gluten intolerance
- Gluten flour vs vital wheat gluten
- Gluten sensitivity vs wheat allergy
- Wheat sensitivity vs. gluten intolerance
- Rye bread vs whole wheat