Doctor insights on:
Oatmeal Contain Gluten
Maybe not: Oats and oatmeal are listed as a gluten-containing grain. More recent reports say that oats don't have the gluten proteins but have small amounts of another protein that may cause reactions in some celiac disease patients. Sometimes the same equipment that processes oats also processes wheat, so there can be traces of gluten from the wheat getting into the oats. So, "pure" oats probably are ok. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Wheat barley rye contains gluten, a protein molecule that in susceptible people can cause reactions and long term illness. There is celiac, the most well known and severe gluten disease. There is gluten sensitivity, affecting more people, but usually milder. There is wheat allergy, less common than the others. The treatment, for now, is to avoid all gluten in ...Read more
Probably not: Oats and oatmeal are listed as a gluten-containing grain. More recent reports say that oats don't have the gluten proteins but have small amounts of another protein that may cause reactions in some celiac disease patients. Sometimes the same equipment that processes oats also processes wheat, so there can be traces of gluten from the wheat getting into the oats. So, "pure" oats probably are ok. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Gluten grains: Include wheat, spelt, rye and barley. However, there are other grains and food that are considered gluten-free but might need to be avoided in patients who are celiac or gluten intolerant due to the possibility of cross-reactivity. These foods include: dairy, chocolate, sesame, hemp, buckwheat, egg, soy, sorghum, corn, millet, amaranth, quinoa, yeast , tapioca, teff, oats, coffee, rice. Read:grain brain. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
No: It does not contain these thingsGet a more detailed answer ›
Milk products: Lactose is the naturally occurring sugar in milk. So all milk products (including cheese, butter, ice cream and yogurt) contain lactose. Many baked products use milk as an ingredient, so these too have lactose in addition many medicines contain lactose as well used as a "filler". Read labels looking for milk as an ingredient. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Gluten: Gluten is in wheat, barley, and rye. Therefore, it is in any foods or drinks that use these as ingredients. Some foods are pretty obvious like typical breads, pizza, pasta, cakes, and cookies. You need to be aware that gluten is in most beers, soy sauce, and many sauces. Anything breaded typically has gluten. ...Read more
No tyramine in hemp: Some foods contain tyramine, which could be problematic if you are on certain medicines (monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs)). Make sure to do your research for other foods if you were told to avoid 'tyramine containing foods'. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tyramine#Occurrence ...Read more
Is gluten free pasta ( maize starch, soy flour, potato starch and rice starch)with about 40 gm carbohydrates good for cholesterol ?
Does not matter: Since 90% of the cholesterol is produced by the body regardless of your diet, the above would not noticeably affect your cholesterol level. Do note that too much carb may not be good for your health. I don't believe extreme diet does anyone any good. Just eat anything in moderation and exercise at least 3 hrs a week will likely keep you in better shape. ...Read more
- Talk to a doctor live online for free
- Oatmeal bars gluten free
- Oatmeal gluten allergies
- Gluten free oatmeal
- Ask a doctor a question free online
- Foods containing gluten or casein
- Does msg contain gluten?
- Foods containing gluten or cassen
- Does sucrose contain gluten?
- Talk to a pharmacologist online for free