Doctor insights on:
Nut Free Bakery
Likely gluten-free: Peanut butter is usually gluten-free, but one should check the brand's label or website. Peter pan peanut butter is gluten free, according to its 2011 website. It is possible that some peanut butters may have additives that come from wheat, barley, or rye (gluten-containing grains). ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Probably not: Oats and oatmeal are listed as a gluten-containing grain. More recent reports say that oats don't have the gluten proteins but have small amounts of another protein that may cause reactions in some celiac disease patients. Sometimes the same equipment that processes oats also processes wheat, so there can be traces of gluten from the wheat getting into the oats. So, "pure" oats probably are ok. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Read label: Oat is gluten free if grown in a gluten-free environment- far from a wheat or barley field. The gluten in oat is from contamination and not inherent in oat itself. If quaker's oat 's label did not mention gluten-free then you should not touch it unless you get a reply from quaker that this product is made from gluten-free oat. ...Read more
Is gluten free pasta ( maize starch, soy flour, potato starch and rice starch)with about 40 gm carbohydrates good for cholesterol ?
Does not matter: Since 90% of the cholesterol is produced by the body regardless of your diet, the above would not noticeably affect your cholesterol level. Do note that too much carb may not be good for your health. I don't believe extreme diet does anyone any good. Just eat anything in moderation and exercise at least 3 hrs a week will likely keep you in better shape. ...Read more
I have gluten free celiacs disease. Is it safe to replace regular flour with gluten free flour (i.E. Ben's mill)?
Yes: You're safe as long as you, as a celiac disease patient, avoid eating wheat, barley, rye products or any commercially-prepared food or drink that the label indicates contains gluten. Look toward to future and see my earlier answer about exciting prospects for celiac patients who may one day soon be able to enjoy gluten. ...Read more
Diet for allergic : Consulting a nutritionist should help you choose alternatives. Instead of wheat, you can have rice, oatmeal, barley, corn. Instead of milk, you can have goat's milk, for protein, you can have beans, edamame instead of tree nuts and peanuts. This is just a short list. Good luck. ...Read more
I tested positive to turkey, potato, sweet potato, rice, rye, pecans, crab, shrimp. Allergist eliminated wheat and corn to feel better. Correlation?
Test v reaction: The presence of a positive skin test to food only means sensitization and not necessarily causing an allergic reaction to that food. The larger the size of the ST,, the more likely a reaction would occur. If you feel better with elimination of corn and wheat, you should avoid them. A double-blind food challenge may be in order. Were ST to wheat & corn strongly positive? ...Read more
Many choices: All whole organic lean proteins, like eggs, chicken, fish, turkey, beef, buffalo, lamb are naturally gluten-free! vegetables are also naturally gluten-free, so are fruits and non-gluten grains, like rice, quinoa, amaranth, and millet. If you eat whole foods in their natural state, unprocessed and free of additives, sauces, marinades and dressings, you will enjoy a delicious variety! ...Read more
Celiac recipes: In response to your question i searched the web for "celiac recipes." the search yielded over 10 pages of websites offering tasty alternatives to baking/cooking with wheat. In addition, recipe suggestions can be obtained from chat rooms and national public education sites dedictated to celiac sprue. Enjoy your web surfing and happy eating... ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Olestra: Fat-free pringles contain Olestra, a fat substitute which in large quantities can lead to abdominal cramps, diarrhea and malabsorption of some vitamins. Taken every once in a while, they are better than regular potato chips, but I wouldn't eat them every day. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Yes: By definition. If you want to become a vegan for moral reasons, be sure you know exactly what you are doing, and take the supplements you need, or you will ruin your health quickly. The vegan industry is full of both very good and upstanding people, and also shameless crooks and liars. Be warned. ...Read more
I am allergic to chicken, pork, beef, clam, egg, soy, barley, oat, cashew, brazil nut, and english walnut. Could I have a protein intolerance?
What kind of allergy: Prick, blood tests not very accurate re: food allergies. Neg tests exclude an immune reaction (true allergy), but pos tests have less value. Best test is a double-blind food challenge (neither tester nor pt know which is which, until code is cracked at end of test); cumbersome.This excludes about 90% of "allergies". Other blood tests can be used, not "live-cell"-bogus, no "applied kinesiology". ...Read moreSee 5 more doctor answers
2 of my 4 kids allergic soy, wheat, rice, corn, peanut, hazelnut, almond, coconut, tomato, lima bean, garlic, onion, fish, shellfish, cantaloupe! help?
- Talk to a doctor live online for free
- Calistoga bakery cafe nutrition information
- Nutritional information on kroger bakery items
- Nutritional information for the safeway bakery fruit cake
- Ask a doctor a question free online
- Nut panel
- Busting nut
- Nut allergy
- Beech nut apple juice
- Talk to a gastroenterologist online