Doctor insights on:
Pork&cow skin &bones: Gelatin is not made from fat but from animal skin & bones; about 44% comes from pig skin, 28% from cow hides & 27% from the bones of cows, pigs and horses. A tiny amount is derived from fish but this is labelled as such- it is produced for those who don't eat mammals. Most capsules in drugs and supplements are made from gelatin but many supps are made from vegcaps derived from cellulose. ...Read more
I'm prescribed with flucoxacilline but it's in gelatin capsule and I'm a vegetarian. Can I take out the content and eat it?
Yes: Pull the capsule apart and mix the contents in a small amount of food. ...Read more
If I crushed my acithromycin that I got to treat chlaymdia and put it in gelatin capsules.. If I discarded the shell pieces will it sill be effective?
Take it all...: ...including the "shell" pieces. Otherwise you may not et the full dose. This is not a smart solution. See my replies to your earlier questions. Best is to ask your pharmacy about other ways to take the drug, if you can't take some kinds of pills. Or speak with your doctor about doxycycline. It has to be taken twice daily for a week, but doxy pills are small and very easy to follow. ...Read more
Avoidance needed: As with other food allergies, strict avoidance is required. It is important to check labels carefully. You should carry an Epinephrine auto-injector (epi-pen, ets.) vaccines, such as dtap, mmr, varicella and certain influenza vaccines contain gelatin. Desensitization protocols for these vaccines exist. ...Read more
Gelatin in Medicines: Gelatin, derived from the collagen inside animals' skin and bones is a commonly used coating agent in medicines Many vegetarians do not know that there is Gelatin in medicines prescribed to them; they usually do not ask their Physician about it. Those vegetarians with strong cultural beliefs will not take such medicines if they had the information; Vegans will also not take medicines with Gelatin ...Read more