Doctor insights on:
Kosher Gelatin Vegetarian
I'm prescribed with flucoxacilline but it's in gelatin capsule and I'm a vegetarian. Can I take out the content and eat it?
Yes: Pull the capsule apart and mix the contents in a small amount of food. ...Read more
I would check the: specific product to know. It is often denoted if it is acceptable for vegan use. ...Read more
Soft geletin capsules, r they non vegetarian and made if animal bones? I brought dexorange iron capsules it is coated in soft geletin and im vegetarian
YES; other options: Yes, gelatin is derived from pork skins, pork, horse & cattle bones or split cattle hides, though there is now also gelatin from fish (generally labelled as such). Many vegan iron preparations are available. One of the best-absorbed forms is ferrous bis-glycinate, available as opti-ferrin c by pure encapsualtions, advanced ferrochel by source naturals & solgar gentle iron. I also like floradix. ...Read more
Vegetarian capsules: Are usually called vcaps rather than softgel. Just check with the manufacturer via the net or a phone call to be sure. Peace and good helth. ...Read more
Gelatin in Medicines: Gelatin, derived from the collagen inside animals' skin and bones is a commonly used coating agent in medicines Many vegetarians do not know that there is Gelatin in medicines prescribed to them; they usually do not ask their Physician about it. Those vegetarians with strong cultural beliefs will not take such medicines if they had the information; Vegans will also not take medicines with Gelatin ...Read more
I am vegetarian and I also eat kosher, but I don't experience regular bowel movement. Any dietary or lifestyle suggestions?
Kosher colon care: Many pareve & milchig favorites can be constipating, especially processed carbohydrates (white breads, pastries, noodles, anything made from matzoh meal) & cheeses. Try using more whole grains & also plenty of fresh fruits & veggies. For torah at your table, aim to fit the seven species of eretz yisroel into your weekly menu: whole wheat, barley, grape, fig, pomegranate, olive oil, & date honey. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Of course: You're free to cheat. Nobody has to find out. A strict vegetarian needs to supplement, and even many vegans will accept gelatin-coated tablets which are of animal origin, though some make problems over it. If you call it a dietary supplement, perhaps that makes it okay. ...Read more
Some are, some not: Vitamins tend to be mostly vegetarian, but some contain animal-derived products, especially vitamin a which may come from fish oil. Also, some vitamins are in gelatin-based gel-caps. Read the ingredients and avoid gel-caps. A quality multivitamin will usually state on the label if it is appropriate for vegetarians. ...Read more
What are some tips on how to make sure that my diet is healthy and balanced, especially since I am a vegetarian?
- Talk to a doctor live online for free
- Kosher vegetarian food
- Does drinking gelatin stop your period?
- Does gelatin stop your period?
- Ask a doctor a question free online
- Gelatin to stop period
- Vegetarian diets are associated with increased consumption of what
- Vegetarian stool color
- Vegetarian diet plans to reduce belly fat
- Talk to a holistic medicine practitioner online for free