Doctor insights on:
Is Inulin Gluten Free
Wheat barley rye contains gluten, a protein molecule that in susceptible people can cause reactions and long term illness. There is celiac, the most well known and severe gluten disease. There is gluten sensitivity, affecting more people, but usually milder. There is wheat allergy, less common than the others. The treatment, for now, is to avoid all gluten in ...Read more
Probably all sodas: Probably all sodas available at stores are gluten free. Sodas are just sugars, carbonated water, caffeine, etc., but rarely would have wheat, rye, or barley. If someone was selling soda with real malted wheat or barley as flavoring, that soda may have gluten. Corn is gluten-free. ...Read more
Why?: This is your business. If you have celiac sprue and/or dermatitis herpetiformis, this is the mainstay of evidence-based treatment. Because eliminating gluten works so well for this group of illnesses, some people have suggested this for most if not all other health problems. It seems most likely that if it works, it is as a placebo. ...Read more
All fresh vegetables: Fresh vegetables are naturally gluten-free. If vegetables have been cooked with gluten-containing sauces or grains (such wheat, barley, malt, or rye products), then the veggies may have gluten on them. Sometimes gluten can get onto veggies if there was gluten on the grill, skillet, pot, or pan. ...Read more
No: Why do you ask? Since the gluten-free diet is hugely effective in managing celiac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis, folks have gotten the idea that it should be good for everyone. So far, evidence of this is "anecdotal" and it looks to me like a placebo. If you make this attempt, it will be much harder for you to be a good guest and folks will consider you a faddist. Be discerning. ...Read more
If gluten-free grain: Breads made from grains such as corn, rice, millet, quinoa, sorghum, and buckwheat are gluten-free, unless they were accidentally contaminated with gluten from other sources such as wheat, barley, or rye. Oats and oatmeal seem not to have gluten, but have another protein that some celiac disease patients may react to. So, other celiac disease patients may eat oat bread without reacting. ...Read more
The best is the diet that you can stick to and satisfies your taste. There are many more gluten free food options today. I suggest that you visit the ccfa. Org website and get some pointers of what is permitted and see what is that you like to eat.
Very important is to be careful when you eat out in restaurants as you may be inadvertently exposed to gluten. ...Read more
Many choices: All whole organic lean proteins, like eggs, chicken, fish, turkey, beef, buffalo, lamb are naturally gluten-free! Vegetables are also naturally gluten-free, so are fruits and non-gluten grains, like rice, quinoa, amaranth, and millet. If you eat whole foods in their natural state, unprocessed and free of additives, sauces, marinades and dressings, you will enjoy a delicious variety! ...Read more
In Theory: In theory yes, but in practice it is harder because so much of our current american food contains gluten in some form. Rice, potatoes, fruit vegetables, and meat are all permitted. You have to read labels closely because sometimes gluten can be added as fillers in things like hot dogs. ...Read more
Helps many because: About 1% of americans have celiac disease, a genetic gluten intolerance, but experts estimate ~10% have gluten sensitivity, which often causes GI symptoms, headaches & fatigue. There are tests for celiac but not for gluten intolerance. Gluten is found in wheat, rye & barley. See the gluten free diet section of my essay on diet & health for more info: http://drrandybaker. Com/2013/01/20/diet-and-health. ...Read more
Mostly, No Wheat: My wife and my cousin are 'gluten free' gluten is found in all wheat products and many packaged foods, not in any animal products. Look for labels now - gluten free foods are readily available and can be quite tasty. Often they cost more. Gluten is a protein that holds bread together, for example, and for some people is indigestible. ...Read more
Maybe: Pure chocolate is ok (tastes bad), but it's the combination of chocolate and cocoa butter (like pure chocolate, a product of the cacao beans), sugar, milk (in some cases) and other ingredients that make "chocolate" such a taste sensation. And those other ingredients are where any gluten-related problems are introduced. There are some "gluten free" chocolate bars made though. Best wishes. ...Read more
- Talk to a doctor online
- Partial gluten free diet
- Is soybean oil gluten free?
- Foods containing gluten gliadin proteins
- Does sucrose contain gluten?
- Is romano cheese gluten free?
- Is high gluten flour healthy?
- Is lactose free milk ok for psoriasis?
- Does rye bread contain gluten?
- H pylori and gluten intolerance
- Is benadryl gluten free?
- Why is gluten bad for you?
- Is gluten that bad?
- Is gluten bad?
- Going gluten free
- Purine free beer
- Gluten free can it cause problems in older age
- Gluten free can it cause problems with the change
- Start gluten free
- Foods that are bad for gluten