Doctor insights on:
Is Benadryl Gluten Free
Not really: if your headache were caused by the gluten in your diet or the lactose in your milk then yes gluten free diet and lactose free diet will eliminate your headache and you no longer need to take any medicine to protect you from headache but if not sure try the diet and keep taking the medicine ...Read more
Wheat barley rye contains gluten, a protein molecule that in susceptible people can cause reactions and long term illness. There is celiac, the most well known and severe gluten disease. There is gluten sensitivity, affecting more people, but usually milder. There is wheat allergy, less common than the others. The treatment, for now, is to avoid all gluten in ...Read more
I have gluten free celiacs disease. Is it safe to replace regular flour with gluten free flour (i.E. Ben's mill)?
Yes: You're safe as long as you, as a celiac disease patient, avoid eating wheat, barley, rye products or any commercially-prepared food or drink that the label indicates contains gluten. Look toward to future and see my earlier answer about exciting prospects for celiac patients who may one day soon be able to enjoy gluten. ...Read more
No wheat or cow milk: Gluten free- means no wheat, rye, barley products. Casein free, means no cows milk products. He can have soy milk, rice milk or almond milk. The gluten is a protein found in the above mentioned grains, he can have rice, potato, corn as his carbohydrates as they are gluten free. He can have rice starch, corn and potato starch as well. ...Read more
No: Lactose is milk sugar. Lactose intolerance is when someone does not have enough lactase enzyme, the enzyme specific to digesting lactase. Lactose intolerance is very common. Caseine is milk protein. Lactase enzyme is not involved in digesting milk protein. Someone who is lactose intolerant can usually tolerate caseine if its in a lactose free food or if they take lactase (brand lactaid). ...Read more
What is the difference between starch and gluten? I'm on a starch free diet, i was told gluten free is the same, but gluten free has starch? Help
Different things: Gluten is a protein composite found in foods processed from wheat and related grain species, including barley and rye. Starch is a sugar (carbohydrate) consisting of a large number of glucose units joined together. Gluten free is not the same as starch free for example tapioca flour is gluten free but it is a starch. Hope this helps. ...Read more
Tested -ve for wheat allergy but great relief to gas and lethargy and digestion aftr gluten free diet.low b12, iron ,vit d. Am i gluten sensitive?
Likely: Wheat allergy is different from gluten sensitivity which requires tests like IgAtTG or genetic markers to detect. With low B12, iron etc, I suspect that you do have gluten intolerance and need to avoid all gluten. If possible get to a GI doctor since the IgA tTG is unreliable when off gluten. Avoidance and supplement for nutrient and vitamin replacement is the key. ...Read more
Can i drink lactose free milk like almond milk but im not lactose tolerant is it still fine to drink lactose free milk?
Yes: By definition. If you want to become a vegan for moral reasons, be sure you know exactly what you are doing, and take the supplements you need, or you will ruin your health quickly. The vegan industry is full of both very good and upstanding people, and also shameless crooks and liars. Be warned. ...Read more
Likely gluten-free: Peanut butter is usually gluten-free, but one should check the brand's label or website. Peter pan peanut butter is gluten free, according to its 2011 website. It is possible that some peanut butters may have additives that come from wheat, barley, or rye (gluten-containing grains). ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer