Doctor insights on:
Gluten Free Scones
Wine, distilled liq.: Wines are made from grapes, and are gluten-free. Gluten is a protein found in grains such as wheat, rye, barley, barley malt (malt), etc... Distilled liquor (hard liquor like gin, vodka, or whiskey) is purified and concentrated by distillation, which removes the gluten that was in the original fermenting grains. Beer, ale, lager, and malt drinks normally contain gluten. ...Read moreSee 2 more doctor answers
Wheat barley rye contains gluten, a protein molecule that in susceptible people can cause reactions and long term illness. There is celiac, the most well known and severe gluten disease. There is gluten sensitivity, affecting more people, but usually milder. There is wheat allergy, less common than the others. The treatment, for now, is to avoid all gluten in ...Read more
On line: Check labels. Gluten is found in grains like wheat, rye, barley, triticale, spelt. So it is also in malt. Not in fruits, vegetables, legumes, meat (unprocessed), fish (unprocessed), poultry (unprocessed), dairy (milk, eggs). Common additive as thickener to gravies, flavoring, in soy sauce. Not in corn, rice. Many products advertise "gluten free"-marketing sometimes. Many never had gluten ever. ...Read more
Why?: This is your business. If you have celiac sprue and/or dermatitis herpetiformis, this is the mainstay of evidence-based treatment. Because eliminating gluten works so well for this group of illnesses, some people have suggested this for most if not all other health problems. It seems most likely that if it works, it is as a placebo. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Weight loss: The issue of gluten allergy is a way over-hyped one. Gluten intolerance has some frequency but this is not allergy. Gluten free diet has become a popular buzz word and has occupied a lot of shelf space in groceries. The true incidence of intolerance is very small in adults and allergy is rare. For most it is a pseudohealth way to limit caloric intake and therefore to lose weight. ...Read more
Probably all sodas: Probably all sodas available at stores are gluten free. Sodas are just sugars, carbonated water, caffeine, etc., but rarely would have wheat, rye, or barley. If someone was selling soda with real malted wheat or barley as flavoring, that soda may have gluten. Corn is gluten-free. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Do you have a list of gluten free brands of foods? Do you know if the brand is always gluten free?
Gluten free foods: To find gluten free foods, you can search the web for mail-order items or ask your local grocer. My dad had to learn to find foods for my mom in his 80s, and he found local foods better than ordering. Remember, all fresh vegetables and meats are gluten free and that's most of what you should eat. Potatoes, corn and rice should be gluten free if you cook them yourself. Only baked treats are hard. ...Read more
- Talk to a doctor live online for free
- Is soybean oil gluten free?
- Gluten free diet
- Partial gluten free diet
- Ask a doctor a question free online
- Gluten free diet cause joint pain
- Is optimum nutrition protein powder 100 gold standard gluten free?
- Gluten free casein free diet
- Does nutrisystem have a gluten free menu?
- Talk to a gastroenterologist online