Doctor insights on:
Gluten Free Desserts
Wheat barley rye contains gluten, a protein molecule that in susceptible people can cause reactions and long term illness. There is celiac, the most well known and severe gluten disease. There is gluten sensitivity, affecting more people, but usually milder. There is wheat allergy, less common than the others. The treatment, for now, is to avoid all gluten in ...Read more
Yes: By definition. If you want to become a vegan for moral reasons, be sure you know exactly what you are doing, and take the supplements you need, or you will ruin your health quickly. The vegan industry is full of both very good and upstanding people, and also shameless crooks and liars. Be warned. ...Read more
Likely gluten-free: Peanut butter is usually gluten-free, but one should check the brand's label or website. Peter pan peanut butter is gluten free, according to its 2011 website. It is possible that some peanut butters may have additives that come from wheat, barley, or rye (gluten-containing grains). ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Many choices: All whole organic lean proteins, like eggs, chicken, fish, turkey, beef, buffalo, lamb are naturally gluten-free! vegetables are also naturally gluten-free, so are fruits and non-gluten grains, like rice, quinoa, amaranth, and millet. If you eat whole foods in their natural state, unprocessed and free of additives, sauces, marinades and dressings, you will enjoy a delicious variety! ...Read more
Is gluten free pasta ( maize starch, soy flour, potato starch and rice starch)with about 40 gm carbohydrates good for cholesterol ?
Does not matter: Since 90% of the cholesterol is produced by the body regardless of your diet, the above would not noticeably affect your cholesterol level. Do note that too much carb may not be good for your health. I don't believe extreme diet does anyone any good. Just eat anything in moderation and exercise at least 3 hrs a week will likely keep you in better shape. ...Read more
Probably not: Sugar free candy is a way to get some of the joy and satisfaction that you might get from sugared candy, without the sugar and calories. It is a substtute for this and not a source of nutrition. So it is not "healthy' to eat but can satisfy the craving without the calories. ...Read moreSee 2 more doctor answers
If gluten-free grain: Breads made from grains such as corn, rice, millet, quinoa, sorghum, and buckwheat are gluten-free, unless they were accidentally contaminated with gluten from other sources such as wheat, barley, or rye. Oats and oatmeal seem not to have gluten, but have another protein that some celiac disease patients may react to. So, other celiac disease patients may eat oat bread without reacting. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
I have gluten free celiacs disease. Is it safe to replace regular flour with gluten free flour (i.E. Ben's mill)?
Yes: You're safe as long as you, as a celiac disease patient, avoid eating wheat, barley, rye products or any commercially-prepared food or drink that the label indicates contains gluten. Look toward to future and see my earlier answer about exciting prospects for celiac patients who may one day soon be able to enjoy gluten. ...Read more
Read label: Oat is gluten free if grown in a gluten-free environment- far from a wheat or barley field. The gluten in oat is from contamination and not inherent in oat itself. If quaker's oat 's label did not mention gluten-free then you should not touch it unless you get a reply from quaker that this product is made from gluten-free oat. ...Read more
New gluten free diet. Feel tired, dizzy, craving butter and dairy. Symptoms go away if I eat cookies or breads. When does gluten free withdrawal end?
Add healthy carb: Gluten free does not mean compete carb free but veggies and fruit - fresh produce and dairy as fermented products ( Yogurt , Kefir) , low fat cheese, Avocado, nuts. all these foods supply good energy and balanced carbs and protein. Nutrition needs balance. Gluten is not needed for sustenance. Check with your Doc. lab work and exam if there is any other disorder as diabetes, anemia, etc. ...Read more
Maybe: Pure chocolate is ok (tastes bad), but it's the combination of chocolate and cocoa butter (like pure chocolate, a product of the cacao beans), sugar, milk (in some cases) and other ingredients that make "chocolate" such a taste sensation. And those other ingredients are where any gluten-related problems are introduced. There are some "gluten free" chocolate bars made though. Best wishes. ...Read moreSee 2 more doctor answers
- Talk to a doctor live online for free
- Sugar free desserts without artificial sweeteners
- Gluten free psyllium
- Oatmeal bars gluten free
- Ask a doctor a question free online
- Are multiple vitamins gluten free?
- Gluten free pasta ingredients
- Benefiber gluten free
- Gluten free caffeine free diets
- Talk to a gastroenterologist online