Doctor insights on:
Fructose Glucose Contain Gluten
Wheat barley rye contains gluten, a protein molecule that in susceptible people can cause reactions and long term illness. There is celiac, the most well known and severe gluten disease. There is gluten sensitivity, affecting more people, but usually milder. There is wheat allergy, less common than the others. The treatment, for now, is to avoid all gluten in ...Read more
Does sweetener zero calories contain lactose sucrose leucine crosscarmellose sodium which is diet sweetener effect on triglycerides like sugar ?
Sweeteners: Don't have calories, i agree. The trouble is that our taste mechanism is made up of 6 stimulants--- sweet, sour bitter, salt, astringent, and metal. All god made food provides flavor from permutations and combinations of the 6. A single sweet input provides a jolt of pleasure that is addictive. It is brain signals that govern our ability to adapt to our environment. We need to obey diet rules. ...Read more
How to find other sugars such as pure glucose (dextrose), maltose, lactose, fructose, galactose, etc., without buying online?
Other sugars: Look in the store. But mainly would not worry about it. Better things to worry about. IMHO ...Read more
Milk products: Lactose is the naturally occurring sugar in milk. So all milk products (including cheese, butter, ice cream and yogurt) contain lactose. Many baked products use milk as an ingredient, so these too have lactose in addition many medicines contain lactose as well used as a "filler". Read labels looking for milk as an ingredient. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Gluten grains: Include wheat, spelt, rye and barley. However, there are other grains and food that are considered gluten-free but might need to be avoided in patients who are celiac or gluten intolerant due to the possibility of cross-reactivity. These foods include: dairy, chocolate, sesame, hemp, buckwheat, egg, soy, sorghum, corn, millet, amaranth, quinoa, yeast , tapioca, teff, oats, coffee, rice. Read:grain brain. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Gluten: Gluten is in wheat, barley, and rye. Therefore, it is in any foods or drinks that use these as ingredients. Some foods are pretty obvious like typical breads, pizza, pasta, cakes, and cookies. You need to be aware that gluten is in most beers, soy sauce, and many sauces. Anything breaded typically has gluten. ...Read more
Is gluten free pasta ( maize starch, soy flour, potato starch and rice starch)with about 40 gm carbohydrates good for cholesterol ?
Does not matter: Since 90% of the cholesterol is produced by the body regardless of your diet, the above would not noticeably affect your cholesterol level. Do note that too much carb may not be good for your health. I don't believe extreme diet does anyone any good. Just eat anything in moderation and exercise at least 3 hrs a week will likely keep you in better shape. ...Read more
Probably not: Oats and oatmeal are listed as a gluten-containing grain. More recent reports say that oats don't have the gluten proteins but have small amounts of another protein that may cause reactions in some celiac disease patients. Sometimes the same equipment that processes oats also processes wheat, so there can be traces of gluten from the wheat getting into the oats. So, "pure" oats probably are ok. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Does your body process different sugars differently (eg. Glucose, fructose, sucrose, lactose, etc.)?
With minor: Differences, your body can easily metabolize any sugar. Glucose, fructose and galactose are all simple sugars or monosaccharides. Sucrose, maltose and lactose are all compound sugars or disaccharides. Sucrose is formed as a combination of a molecule of glucose and one of fructose, and they are broken apart by enzymes. All are equal to 4 calories / gram. ...Read more
No: It does not contain these thingsGet a more detailed answer ›
Sugar alcohols: The funny thing about sugar alcohols is that they reconstitute into actual sugar once digested. So a product can be marketed as "sugar-free" if it contains sugar alcohols, but after absorption there's sugar again. It's a marketing ploy. So yes, sugar alcohols can have bad effects on your body just like sugar. ...Read moreSee 1 more doctor answer
Yes: That's it.Get a more detailed answer ›
Slight differences: Glucose, fructose and galactose are all three dietary monosaccharides. The d (or dextro rotary) isomer of each is the one found naturally in nature. There chemical structures are similar, but slightly different. Both have 4 calories/gram ingested. There is disagreement on whether they exert different effects after ingestion. Both are "empty" calores with no nutrition. ...Read more
Fructose, or fruit sugar, is a simple monosaccharide found in many plants (fruits, vegetables, sugar cane and honey). Fructose is absorbed directly into the bloodstream during digestion. Since 1970 high fructose corn syrup has been increasingly used in the food industry. Excess fructose consumption has been linked to Insulin resistance, obesity, metabolic ...Read more
The blood sugar concentration or blood glucose level is the amount of glucose (sugar) present in the blood of a human or animal. The body naturally tightly regulates blood glucose levels as a part of metabolic homeostasis. Glucose is the primary source of energy for the body's cells, and blood lipids (in the form of fats and oils) are primarily ...Read more
- Talk to a doctor live online for free
- Do lemons contain fructose?
- What are the functions of glucose fructose?
- Fructose and glucose in bananas
- Ask a doctor a question free online
- Foods that contain fructose corn syrup
- Does rice milk contain fructose?
- List of grains containing gluten
- Foods containing gluten or casein
- Talk to a endocrinologist online for free