A 23-year-old female asked:
Disclaimer

how long does it take for gluten to exit out of your system completely if testing if gluten free diet helps? is oatmeal ok? what to know about gluten?

2 doctor answers
Dr. Justin Greiwe
11 years experience Allergy and Immunology
Celiac Disease: Celiac disease (gluten-sensitivity) presents with villous atrophy, malabsorption, weight loss (signs of nutrient or vitamin deficiency). Resolution of the mucosal lesions and symptoms after withdrawal of gluten-containing foods (usually within a few weeks to months). Blood test can determine if you have this condition. Gluten-free products are clearly labeled. Pure oatmeal does not contain gluten.
Answered on Apr 27, 2015
1
1 thank
Dr. John Chiu
Dr. John Chiu answered
56 years experience Allergy and Immunology
Probably a week: Most gluten would be gone in less than a day but to be totally free may take longer. Blood test for gluten sensitivity is unreliable if done on a gluten-free diet. Gluten is present in wheat, barley, and rye. Oat is ok if grown in fields uncontaminated by gluten-containing crop. About 1% of the population is gluten sensitive but studies suggest that non-celiac gluten intolerance can be present.
Answered on Oct 14, 2017
1
1 comment
1
1 thank
Dr. John Chiu
Dr. John Chiu commented
56 years experience Allergy and Immunology
Provided original answer
For the blood test (IgA tTG) to be reliable, you need to be on a regular diet with gluten for about 3 weeks before the test should be considered.
Jul 21, 2015

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month

Related questions:

A female asked:
Dr. Dan Fisher
26 years experience Internal Medicine
Technically yes.: Realistically no. Unless it says certified gluten free on the label, oatmeal may be contaminated with wheat, rye or barley which contain gluten.
2
2 thanks
A 32-year-old member asked:
Dr. Jack Mutnick
16 years experience Allergy and Immunology
Oatmeal: It should say on the package. Many of their products are gluten-free but some of their products are not. If it doesn't say it, then it is not gluten-f ... Read More
A 25-year-old member asked:
Dr. Robert Kwok
32 years experience Pediatrics
Maybe not: Oats and oatmeal are listed as a gluten-containing grain. More recent reports say that oats don't have the gluten proteins but have small amounts of a ... Read More
A 38-year-old member asked:
Dr. James Ferguson
45 years experience Pediatrics
Depends on variables: Oatmeal by itself is gluten free.However, it is often processed on machinery that is also used to process wheat and cross contamination can and does o ... Read More

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
Unlimited visits
$10/month