U.S. doctors online nowAsk doctors free
CA
A 24-year-old member asked:

What kind of pastas are gluten free?

2 doctor answers3 doctors weighed in
Dr. Robert Kwok
Pediatrics 33 years experience
If gluten-free grain: Pastas made just from corn, rice, millet, quinoa, sorghum, buckwheat, or other gluten-free grains would be gluten-free, as long as there is not contamination from gluten on the factory's equipment.
Dr. Steven Machtinger
Allergy and Immunology 44 years experience
Rice or quinoa: Rice or quinoa pasta. Choose heavier rice pastas like penne or ziti rather than spaghetti. The thin rice pastas are pretty limp. Pure buckwheat pasta is also gluten-free.

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Educational text
Free
Talk to a doctor
24/7 visits - just $39!
50% off with $15/month membership

Similar questions

A 34-year-old member asked:

What kind of oils are gluten free?

2 doctor answers3 doctors weighed in
Dr. Robert Kwok
Pediatrics 33 years experience
Oils are gluten-free: Oils are gluten-free, unless they were contaminated with gluten protein, from contact with such items as wheat, barley, malt, or rye products, during the preparation or presentation of the oils before dining. Pure oils should not have protein in them, and gluten is a type of protein.
A 30-year-old member asked:

What kind of soda is gluten free?

2 doctor answers3 doctors weighed in
Dr. Robert Kwok
Pediatrics 33 years experience
Probably all sodas: Probably all sodas available at stores are gluten free. Sodas are just sugars, carbonated water, caffeine, etc., but rarely would have wheat, rye, or barley. If someone was selling soda with real malted wheat or barley as flavoring, that soda may have gluten. Corn is gluten-free.
CA
A 39-year-old member asked:

What kinds of vegetables are gluten free?

2 doctor answers2 doctors weighed in
Dr. Robert Kwok
Pediatrics 33 years experience
All fresh vegetables: Fresh vegetables are naturally gluten-free. If vegetables have been cooked with gluten-containing sauces or grains (such wheat, barley, malt, or rye products), then the veggies may have gluten on them. Sometimes gluten can get onto veggies if there was gluten on the grill, skillet, pot, or pan.
CA
A 25-year-old member asked:

What kind of nuts are gluten free?

2 doctor answers2 doctors weighed in
Dr. Robert Kwok
Pediatrics 33 years experience
Nuts are gluten-free: Nuts are naturally gluten-free, but processed nuts (such as candy-coated nuts) may have picked up some gluten from wheat, barley, malt, or rye ingredients during the processing. One should always check the labels on processed nuts to see if they say "gluten-free".
A 42-year-old member asked:

What kinds of milk are gluten-free?

1 doctor answer1 doctor weighed in
Dr. Martin Fried
General Practice 36 years experience
All: All milks are gluten free. Milk is not made from wheat. So cows milk, goat milk, coconut milk, soy, rice and almond milk are all gluten free. Enjoy in good health

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Educational text
Free
Talk to a doctor
24/7 visits - just $39!
50% off with $15/month membership
Last updated Aug 26, 2015

Disclaimer:

Content on HealthTap (including answers) should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and interactions on HealthTap do not create a doctor-patient relationship. Never disregard or delay professional medical advice in person because of anything on HealthTap. Call your doctor or 911 if you think you may have a medical emergency.