U.S. doctors online nowAsk doctors free
A 34-year-old member asked:

are there gluten free foods that don't say they are gluten free on the bag?

1 doctor answer7 doctors weighed in
Dr. Arthur Heller
Gastroenterology 43 years experience
On line: Check labels. Gluten is found in grains like wheat, rye, barley, triticale, spelt. So it is also in malt. Not in fruits, vegetables, legumes, meat (unprocessed), fish (unprocessed), poultry (unprocessed), dairy (milk, eggs). Common additive as thickener to gravies, flavoring, in soy sauce. Not in corn, rice. Many products advertise "gluten free"-marketing sometimes. Many never had gluten ever.

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
24/7 visits
$15 per month

Similar questions

A 34-year-old member asked:

What kind of oils are gluten free?

2 doctor answers3 doctors weighed in
Dr. Robert Kwok
Pediatrics 33 years experience
Oils are gluten-free: Oils are gluten-free, unless they were contaminated with gluten protein, from contact with such items as wheat, barley, malt, or rye products, during the preparation or presentation of the oils before dining. Pure oils should not have protein in them, and gluten is a type of protein.
CA
A 25-year-old member asked:

What kind of nuts are gluten free?

2 doctor answers2 doctors weighed in
Dr. Robert Kwok
Pediatrics 33 years experience
Nuts are gluten-free: Nuts are naturally gluten-free, but processed nuts (such as candy-coated nuts) may have picked up some gluten from wheat, barley, malt, or rye ingredients during the processing. One should always check the labels on processed nuts to see if they say "gluten-free".
CA
A 39-year-old member asked:

What kinds of vegetables are gluten free?

2 doctor answers2 doctors weighed in
Dr. Robert Kwok
Pediatrics 33 years experience
All fresh vegetables: Fresh vegetables are naturally gluten-free. If vegetables have been cooked with gluten-containing sauces or grains (such wheat, barley, malt, or rye products), then the veggies may have gluten on them. Sometimes gluten can get onto veggies if there was gluten on the grill, skillet, pot, or pan.
CA
A 25-year-old member asked:

What is the meaning of gluten free?

2 doctor answers2 doctors weighed in
Dr. Robert Kwok
Pediatrics 33 years experience
No gluten protein: Gluten-free means the food or drink does not contain gluten, a protein found in such grains as wheat, rye, and barley (including malted barley or malt). Grains that do not contain gluten include corn, rice, millet, quinoa, sorghum, and buckwheat.
A 33-year-old member asked:

Are gluten free foods healthier?

1 doctor answer1 doctor weighed in
Dr. Jason Hemming
Gastroenterology 17 years experience
Not necessarily : Of course by avoiding gluten many bad foods are excluded but being gluten free does not make it neccessarily more healthy then another product.

Related questions

A 42-year-old member asked:
1 doctor answer2 doctors weighed in
A 44-year-old member asked:
1 doctor answer1 doctor weighed in
A 35-year-old member asked:
1 doctor answer1 doctor weighed in

90,000 U.S. doctors in 147 specialties are here to answer your questions or offer you advice, prescriptions, and more. Get help now:

Ask doctors free
Personalized answers
Free
Talk to a doctor
24/7 visits
$15 per month
Last updated May 25, 2013

People also asked

Connect with a U.S. board-certified doctor by text or video anytime, anywhere.
24/7 visits
$15 per month

Disclaimer:

Content on HealthTap (including answers) should not be used for medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment, and interactions on HealthTap do not create a doctor-patient relationship. Never disregard or delay professional medical advice in person because of anything on HealthTap. Call your doctor or 911 if you think you may have a medical emergency.